Stopping

Make complete stops.

I never completely stop at stop signs. I’m the queen of “California rolls” if you will. I’m also the queen of staying busy. Unbearably so. Exhaustingly so. I’m addicted to what my friend Shauna Nequist calls “fake rest.” And you know what? I’m sick of it. I looked back on my journal this past week and found an angsty prayer about how tired I was. And it was dated January 21. I’ve been tired for a while now. So, much like my horrible driving habits, I have to relearn how to truly stop my life.

How to rest amidst the chaos.

That doesn’t look like better time management. That doesn’t mean becoming a recluse.

It looks like healthy no’s, better, more thoughtful decisions and

seeking

silence.

 

Leave a Reply

