2 Corinthians 12:9-10

Ok so it’s no secret that this Christianity thing is new to me. Really, does acknowledging God’s existence for a grand total of six months even constitute me as a Christian? Probably not. But then again, where’s the value in labels anyways?

There’s this verse that really threw me for a loop. 2 Corinthians 12:9-10 says, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness. Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me. That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties. For when I am weak, then I am strong.”

Can we just acknowledge how idealistic this verse is please? Like, yeah, sure God, this sounds great and all, but who really BOASTS about their weaknesses. I certainly don’t. I am much more inclined to hide my weaknesses; I bury them deep in my subconscious, making it nearly impossible for me to recognize them, and I hope and pray other people don’t notice them either. I consider it impressive if I can even name what I suck at – so very rarely would I even dream of boasting about my imperfections.

As a realist and self-proclaimed cynic, I was distrustful of this verse. Which made me doubtful, which then made me insecure. If I was (already) so unsure of one of the first Bible verses I was exposed to, what did this say about the strength of my new-found “faith”?

If there is one thing I’m good at, it’s asking questions. So I asked every knowledgeable Christian I knew what they thought of the verse. It wasn’t until weeks later that I finally had a light bulb moment. And ironically, I answered my own question.

My freshman year of college was a whirlwind. My head coach had just lost her husband unexpectedly to post-surgery complications a short 3 months before season began. Battling grief and looming depression on a daily basis, she was without a doubt at her weakest. And without her guidance, we were also at our weakest, even if I didn’t realize it at the time.

Fast forward past two 30-point losses on our home court, multiple tear-filled pre-game devotions, and a devastating loss to our rival in the GSAC championship game, we found ourselves at the National Tournament. In order to become national champions, you have to win a grueling 5 games in 6 days – not even the studs of NCAA experience this kind of feat.

Somehow, we scraped and clawed and fought relentlessly to win our first four games. Which meant we were playing for the national title. Whoa. How did this happen?

Of all days, Coach decided to be completely and unabashedly vulnerable about losing her husband. Because of her brutal honesty, we were all using our jerseys to wipe our tears five minutes before the game started. She knowingly made herself weak in front of all of us. And I think God rewarded her vulnerability – because by making herself weak, Coach provided God an opportunity to give us all His strength. In her weakness, in our weakness, we became strong.

Because you know what happened? I bet you can guess. We won that championship game and become National Champions for the first time in school history.

HIS power was made perfect in weakness.

It appears that God is in the habit of hitting me upside the head with amazingly simple, yet awe-inspiring, answers.

Leave a Reply

